Saving money is simply smart!

April 16, 2007

I like to live simply which already saves me a ton of money that I am able to put toward other pursuits such as our son’s education and travel.  I am also fairly cheap and frugal but not to the extent that it clutters up my simple life.  For example, I wouldn’t buy something that I don’t need just because it is 75% off in the event I might use it in the future.  It would simply be clutter taking up space. I wait until I need something, then I start looking.

Today, patience and looking paid off. 

My cats love their kitty condo but it is in sad shape and, after years of being a jungle gym to my Bradley Cat, is structurally unsound.  We have re-covered too many times to count.  But it is a cat favorite in this house.  It serves as a bed, a window viewing area, a place to bathe and a safe place from dogs or kids as well as being a scratching post and a jungle gym for one of my very active cats.  I was beginning to lament we would have spend several hundred dollars to replace this kitty condo soon before one or both of the cats were hurt. 

Fortune smiled on us.  Today, my husband and I spotted  in a neighbor’s yard a free, very good condition kitty condo.  We snatched it up.  I have thoroughly vacuumed it and it is now being test driven by one cat and sniffed by the dog (wondering who the new cats might be that she smells on the carpet).

I won’t go out of my way to find a bargain but I will take one when it falls in my lap!   And this goes to show that if you are patient and keep your eyes open, you can usually find what you need without spending a lot of money or using resources.

One Response to “Saving money is simply smart!”


Leave a Reply

