Live Deliberately

April 4, 2007

I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.
Henry David Thoreau, Walden

I wish I could find the opportunity to spend one year in a cabin in the woods like Thoreau.  It is much easier to put life back into perspective when you are not confronted daily with your creature comforts of home.  I wish I could break the television cycle, the movie habit, the daily grind that sucks life energy and keeps us from accomplishing the things we really long to do, that keeps us in a cycle of surviving rather than living deliberately.

I will never likely move to a small cabin in the woods like Thoreau, but I am working on living simply and living deliberately.   It may be unconventional and label me a non-conformist but I reject our modern life.  I reject the fast pace of life, the lack of attention to nature and her bountiful gifts that are dying before our eyes from our greed and speed. 

I approached my husband with an idea.  When our son is close to leaving the nest for college, we sell our home, whittle our possessions to only those we absolutely want to keep and send them to storage.  Then we take a leave of absence and set off on a year long trek around the world.  We are financially sound, we have 10 years to make this a reality and we can do it.  We travel regularly but a week is not enough to really experience life in another land, among other people. 

It is much harder to walk the walk than talk the talk though.  So today, I will pick up Thoreau’s book once more and dream of quitting our jobs for a year tour around the world. 

I don’t want to come time to die and discover that I had not lived. 

Leave a Reply

