Exercise

March 14, 2007

I hate it.  I am trying to learn to love it.  I admit, over the past 5 years I have gained weight and have gotten lazy.  Things hurt that shouldn’t hurt – I pretend it is because I am getting older, but the truth is that I am simply out of shape.

Last year, I decided to walk/run a half marathon.  I did it.  I am a type a, goal obsessive person.  I could exercise while thinking of that cool Tiffany’s finisher’s necklace and 4 days in San Francisco as well as the race route around the edge of the city.  I also raised $5000.oo for cancer research during that quest by training with Team in Training.  It was amazing.  The finisher’s necklace was the least of my worries when I finally crossed the finish line.  Don’t get me wrong, having a Tiffany’s necklace was wonderful but what was more wonderful was crossing that finish line after 13.1 miles on foot, having taken myself there. 

This year there is no marathon and therefore no exercise.  Until this year, I have used every excuse in the book.  I am too busy, I am working mother for goodness sakes.  I not only have a job but it is a fairly high profile career.  I have to cook dinner every night, I need to help my son with his homework, then there is baseball practice and visits with friends and family.  I have volunteer schedules and commitments with people, I don’t have time to exercise.

I have no more excuses. 

I have shifted my schedule to part-time and basically job-share with my one other colleague.  Even then most of my work is done out of my home via the email.  I have limited my outside commitments.  I no longer volunteer for everything that comes along. In essence, I have simplified my life to the point that the only thing standing in my way to a trim and healthy body is my laziness. 

I have run out of excuses not to do the thing I hate most….exercise.  I have to find a way to, if not love it, tolerate its presence in my life like I do those horrid annual gynecological exams.  It isn’t something I want to do, but to stay healthy I drag myself down for utter humiliation on an annual basis.  So I suppose to beat back adult diabetes, cancer and other nasties, I will drag myself out of the house to move around quickly and sweat on a regular basis.

Maybe this simplified life is overrated.  😉 

Leave a Reply

