Can we really change?

January 24, 2007

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world.”  – Ghandi

This quote has been on my mind a lot lately. Change is hard.  There is no way around it. People talk of saving the earth and leaving a better future for our children, but what are we, collectively, doing about it?  It is just talk?  In the words of one of my favorite former pastors – are your lips and feet in sync?

A startling alert came across my desk this morning.  The National Wildlife Federation says that the artic ice cap is melting up to 24,000 acres a day.  Polar bears are drowning because they cannot swim the ever growing distance between ice sheets where they hunt food and land where they live. How can I stop this?   What can I do? 

One person cannot surely stop the polar ice caps from melting but if one person joins me, and another, and another, and another…..soon we have made a difference. 

So what can I do to be the change I wish to see in the world?  

I can set my thermastat slightly lower even though I hate being cold.  Is my comfort worth millions of pounds of carbon dioxide released into the air to supply energy to my home? 

I can change my light bulbs to florescent.  The light isn’t as good as incandescent but the CO2 is reduced by me reducing how much energy is used to light my home. 

Simply turning off unused lights.   Rooms do not need to be lit if you aren’t in them, even if they are using florescent bulbs. 

I can take  cloth bags to the grocery store, something I always seem to forget.  They are reusable and they will not end up in a landfill.  If they ever do need to be thrown away, they are a natural cotton fiber that will  break down much quicker and easier than petroleum based plastic.

I can shop locally for my produce, meat and dairy.  The food is fresher, full of nutrients that are lacking in conventional grocery store items and more importantly reduce the emissions that would be used to ship produce to me from far away lands.  

There are many things that I can do to take that one step….and be the change that I wish to see in the world.

Join me in making a difference.

Leave a Reply

